UK Work Permit

British Consulate

This is the UK Work Permit. If you wish to work in the United Kingdom legally then you need to first obtain sponsorship from a registered company in the United Kingdom. They will need to provide the paperwork for you and also act as your sponsor for the visa.  Note also the categories of work permits in the UK.

UK Work Permit

The UK offers several types of UK work permits. Likewise it will depend on the individual’s qualifications and the job offer they have received. The following are some of the most common types of British work permits in the UK:

  • Tier 1 (Exceptional Talent) Visa: Meant for people who are considered to be exceptional talents in their field;
  • Tier 2 (General) Visa: This is meant for skilled workers with a job offer in the UK by a licensed sponsor. This visa requires the employer to prove that no suitable UK or EU candidate was available for the position.
  • Tier 2 (Intra-company Transfer) Visa: For workers of multinational companies who have been offered a transfer;
  • Tier 2 (Minister of Religion) Visa: For individuals who have been offered a job as a minister of religion’
  • Tier 2 (Sportsperson) Visa: For elite athletes and coaches who have been endorsed by a recognized governing body;
  • Tier 5 (Temporary Worker) Visa: For person who want to come to the UK for a short-term period to work;
  • Global Talent Visa: For individuals who are recognized as world leaders or potential world leaders in technology.

Likewise you will note that the UK’s immigration rules are subject to change. You should always check the most up-to-date information on the UK government’s website.

Work Permit Requirements

Before you are able to apply for the work permit you must meet the requirements:

  • You have received a confirmed offer of employment from a licensed UK employer;
  • Your employer in the UK will act as your sponsor; and
  • Additionally you are in possession of a Certificate of Sponsorship issued by your sponsor; and
  • You passed the points-based assessment test.

Note that outside of the above there are also the categories for the UK work permit which are listed below:

  • Tier 2 General – Skilled Worker
  • Tier 2 Intra-Company Transfer
  • Likewise Tier 2 Sportsperson
  • Tier 2 Minister of Religion


Further note that if you hold onto your work permit for 5 years or longer then you can apply for permanent residency in the United Kingdom. Speak to an immigration solicitor about these options. The process is very complex and most times the UK companies take care of these issues for you.

See also the indefinite leave to remain UK as well as the UK Dependent Visa and the UK visa application. This outside the UK Ancestry Visa.



Incoming search terms:

error: Content is protected !!